Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: December 7, 2013
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2013
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar
Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2013 by Marco Stoovelaar

Bas de Jong Most Valuable Player; Rob Cordemans Best Pitcher 2013

...Rob Cordemans...
...8th Best Pitcher-title...
(© Photo: Henk Seppen)
ROTTERDAM (Neth.) - Bas de Jong is the Most Valuable Player of the 2013 season and Rob Cordemans again has been named Best Pitcher. Both play for L&D Amsterdam Pirates. It marks the first time in history that the Most Valuable Player comes from one club in three consecutive years. In 2011, Vince Rooi won the Award, last year Rob Cordemans was named both MVP and Best Pitcher. Rob Cordemans was crowned for the eighth time as Best Pitcher of the Dutch big league and the third year in a row. The winners were announced on Saturday-evening (December 7) during the Star Awards at Novotel Brainpark in Rotterdam during the European Baseball & Softball Coach Clinic of the KNBSB.
(photo gallery Star Awards)

Since 1999, Cordemans was nominated eleven times for the pitching award, winning eight of them. Cordemans became only the fifth pitcher in history to win the award in three consecutive seasons and the first to do so since 1986 when Graig McGinnis (Giants Diemen) won his third Best Pitcher Award in a row. Rudi Dom (Sparta) was Best Pitcher in 1966-1968, Han Urbanus (OVVO) won the award in 1953-1955 and Herman Beidschat (Haarlem Nicols) won the trophy a record eight years in a row from 1959-1966. Beidschat is also recordholder with 10 overall best pitching-trophies.

This season, Cordemans led the league with 10 victories and was second-best with an 1.11 ERA. His 88 strikeouts were third best in the league. Also nominated were David Bergman (Corendon Kinheim) and Diegomar Markwell (DOOR Neptunus), who also were nominated last season.

Bas de Jong won his first MVP-trophy. The rightfielder of L&D Amsterdam Pirates led the league in hitting (.369), slugging percentage (.524), basehits (62) and total bases (88). He shared fourth place with 34 runs batted in and scored 35 runs (ninth place).

Also nominated for the MVP Award were Ramiro Balentina (Corendon Kinheim), Benjamin Dille (DOOR Neptunus) and Vince Rooi (Vaessen Pioniers).

...Bas de Jong...
...Most Valuable Player & Best Hitter...
(© Photo: Henk Seppen)
With his .369 batting average (62-for-168), Bas de Jong also was the Best Hitter of the season. He finished only .001 point ahead of teammate Percy Isenia. De Jong also was the Best Hitter last season when he batted .370. It marks only the second time since 1985 that a player is the best hitter in two consecutive seasons. In 2010-2011, Dirk van 't Klooster (Kinheim) won the award back-to-back. The last player to do so before that was Frank Millerd in 1983-1984, playing for ADO and Pirates respectively. De Jong is the sixth player in history to win the batting title in two (more more) consecutive years.

...Bryan Engelhardt...
...Homerun King...
(© Photo: Henk Seppen)
Bryan Engelhardt (Corendon Kinheim) again was crowned as Homerun King. The lefthanded hitting first baseman/designated hitter hit six homeruns this season to lead the league. It was the sixth time that Engelhardt led in homeruns, he also did so in 2004, 2006, 2009, 2010 and 2011.

Roelie Henrique (L&D Amsterdam Pirates) stole the most bases this season with 20. Henrique became the first player of Pirates to win this award in 25 years. The only other player of Pirates to steal the most bases in a season was Reggie Barringer in 1988.

Benjamin Dille received the award for Holland Series MVP, which already was announced after completion of the championship series of DOOR Neptunus.

The Guus van der Heijden Memorial Trophy for Best Player in the Dutch Team under 23 went to Xander Bogaerts of the Boston Red Sox. Bogaerts was chosen, as he has all phsyical aspects of a good player, but especially an great motivation and enormous passion to develop himself. With the Netherlands National Team he reached the semi-final of the World Baseball Classic in March of this year and in October, he was the starting third baseman in the Major League playing for Boston Red Sox with whom he won the World Series.

Max Draijer (APPM Rabbits) won the Ron Fraser Award for best youth player, while Misja Harcksen (Rotterdam Unicorns) was named best junior-pitcher, winning the Roel de Mon Award. This season, Harcksen made his big league-debut while playing for DOOR Neptunus.

Gijs Selderijk is this years winner of the Leen Volkerijk Award for his longtime devotion to and involved in player development.

The Bill Arce Award, which was handed out for the first time last year, went to Jim Shuster. The award is handed out to the Most Promising Coach.

Coach of the Year was Hensley Meulens, who led the Netherlands National Team to the semi-final of the World Baseball Classic in March. Meulens also is the Hitting Coach of the successful team of San Francisco Giants in the Major League, which won the World Series in 2010 and 2012.

...Roelie Henrique...
...Most Stolen Bases...

...Coach of the Year Hensley Meulens (left) greets...
...Andruw Jones during the World Baseball Classic...

...Xander Bogaerts...
...Guus vd Heijden Memorial Trophy...
(© Photos: Henk Seppen)


(December 7)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2013 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.