Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: November 12, 2013
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2013
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar
Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2013 by Marco Stoovelaar

Francona, Hurdle Managers of the Year
NEW YORK, New York (USA) - Terry Francona (Cleveland Indians) and Clint Hurdle (Pittsburgh Pirates have been named Manager of the Year in respectively the American League and National League. The announcement was made on Tuesday (November 12).

Terry Francona receive 16 first place-votes and a total of 112 to finish in first place, followed by John Farrell of World Series-winner Boston Red Sox, who got 96 votes, and Bob Melvin (Oakland Athletics), who got 36 votes.

Clint Hurdle got 25 first place-votes and finished with a total of 140 ahead of Don Mattingly (Los Angeles Dodgers), who had 68 votes, and Fredi Gonzalez (Atlanta Braves), who got 43 votes.

Hurdle led the Pittsburgh Pirates to their first postseason since 1992 in his third season with the club. Pittsburgh was 94-68 in the season to finish in second place in the Central Division and capture the Wild Card-position to qualify for the postseason. Hurdle is the second Pittsburgh-manager to win the award, the other being Jim Leyland, who was Manager of the Year in 1990 and 1992.

Francona also becomes the second manager of the Indians to win the award, the other being Eric Wedge in 2007. After not being active in 2012, Francona returned to being a Manager this season. With the Indians, he won 92 games this season after the team had lost 94 a year ago. In 2004-2011, Francona was the Manager of the Boston Red Sox, with whom he won the World Series in 2004 and 2007. In 2012, Francona was an announcer and analyst for ESPN tv-broadcasts in Sunday Night Baseball.

(November 12)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2013 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.