Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: November 13, 2013
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2013
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar
Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2013 by Marco Stoovelaar

Kershaw, Scherzer win Cy Young Award
NEW YORK, New York (USA) - Clayton Kershaw (Los Angeles Dodgers) and Steve Scherzer (Detroit Tigers) are the best pitchers of the season, as they have won the Cy Young Award in respectively the National League and American League. The winners were announced on Wednesday-evening (November 13).

Lefthander Clayton Kershaw won the Award for the second time in three years. He won the award in 2011, was runner-up last year and this year, he won the Award almost unanimously, as he received 29 of the 30 possible votes for first place. It gave him 207 points overall to finish well ahead of Adam Wainwright (St. Louis Cardinals, who got 86 points (and the other first place-vote), and José Fernandez (Miami Marlins), who got 62. Last Monday, Fernandez was voted Rookie of the Year in the National League.

Kershaw had the best ERA in the National League with 1.83 ERA. He also led the league with 232 strikeouts. It is the eleventh time that a pitcher of the Dodgers wins the Award. Before Kershaw's win in 2011, the last Dodger to win was Ëric Gagné in 2003. Kershaw becomes the second Dodger-pitcher to win the Award twice, as legendary Sandy Koufax won the Award three times (1963, 1965, 1966).

Max Scherzer got 28 first place-votes and finished with 203, also way ahead of runner-up Yu Darvish (Texas Rangers), who got 93 points, and Hisashi Iwakuma (Seattle Mariners), who got 73 points.

Scherzer won 13 games in a row and led the Major League with 21 victories. He lost only three games. It is the fifth time that a Detroit-pitcher won the Award, the last being Justin Verlander in 2011. Denny McLain won the Award twice in 1968 and 1969.

Kershaw is the 17th pitcher to win the Award two or more times. Roger Clemens was named Cy Young Award-winner a record seven times.

(November 13)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2013 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.