Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: April 6, 2014
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2014
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar
Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2014 by Marco Stoovelaar

Pirates wins Urbanus Tournament
BUSSUM (Neth.) - L&D Amsterdam Pirates won the annual In Memoriam Charles Urbanus Sr. Tournament on Sunday. The team ended the tournament with a 6-6 tie against host Mr. Cocker HCAW, which finished in second place.

Earlier in the day, Corendon Kinheim won 3-1 vs. Vaessen Pioniers to finish in third place.

Amsterdam-pitcher Kevin Heijstek was named Best Pitcher of the tournament. Dirk van 't Klooster, who this season makes his debut in the squad of Pioniers, was the Best Hitter and was also named Most Valuable Player.

It marks the first time that Amsterdam Pirates won the annual event, which was organized for the first time in 1981. The event is named after legendary Coach Charles Urbanus Sr., the uncle of Charles Urbanus Jr., who this season returns as Head Coach of Amsterdam Pirates after an one-year absence. Charles Sr. was the brother of legendary pitcher Han Urbanus, the father of Charles Jr.

This year was the 32nd edition of the tournament. Due to weather conditions, there were no tournaments in 1985 and 2003.

The tournament was first organized by Amsterdam-based Amstel Tijgers. Towards the end of 1988, Amstel Tijgers merged with HCAW to become HCAW-Tijgers (a name which was held for four seasons). In 1988 and 1989, the site for the tournament was the Pim Mulier Stadium in Haarlem with Haarlem Nicols being the host. Since 1990, the tournament is organized by HCAW on its site in Bussum.

The third day of the tournament began with a 3-1 victory of Kinheim vs. Pioniers.

Initially, Kinheim trailed 1-0 after two innings, then came alongside in the third and won the game by scoring twice in the seventh at bat.

Pioniers opened the score in the first inning off of starter Glenn Wassink, who threw five innings. Zerzinho Croes led off with a double, moved on a grounder and scored on a single by Dirk van 't Klooster.

Kinheim tied the score in the third at bat off of starter Elton Koeiman, who also pitched five innings. Bruce Martinus then led off with a single, moved when an error was made on a sacrifice bunt by former Pionier Jefferson Muzo and a sac-bunt by René Cremer, then scored on a sac-fly by Björn Henrichs.

The game then remained tied for the next three innings, but Kinheim took a 3-1 lead in the top of the seventh inning. Kinheim scored off of reliever Scott Ronnenbergh, who recently was released by the Seattle Mariners, ending his professional career. Kinheim hit three hits, but the Pioniers-defense committed two errors in the inning. Lead-off hitter Jeffrey Arends reached on an error, then moved on sac-bunt by Mervin Gario and a single by rookie Sander Paap. Dashenko Ricardo followed with an RBI-single that gave Kinheim a 2-1 lead. A throwing error followed on the single to put runners on second and third base. With two outs, René Cremer singled in Paap, but Ricardo was thrown out at the plate when he also tried to score.

In the bottom of the seventh, Arshwin Asjes took over the pitching for Kinheim, struckout the side and earned a save.

Vaessen Pioniers - Corendon Kinheim 1-3 (7)
Corendon Kinheim0010002-350
Vaessen Pioniers1000000-154
pitchers Kinheiminn.SOBBHRER
Glenn Wassink5-2511
Pim Walsma, W (1-0)131---
Arshwin Asjes, SV (1)13----
pitchers Pioniersinn.SOBBHRER
Elton Koeiman52121-
Scott Ronnenbergh, L (0-1)21-32-
Umpires: HP-Winfried Berkvens, 1B-Fred Groenewegen, 3B-Niek Elshof.
Official Scorers-Feiko Drost, Gyorgyike Horvath.
Time-1:37 hr.

In the last game of Day 3 and the final game of the event, host HCAW met Amsterdam Pirates in the match-up that would decide the tournament-championship. Pirates led the tournament after two days, but a loss would give HCAW the tournament-win based on the head-to-head result. The game ended in a 6-6 tie, resulting in Pirates finishing in first place and HCAW in second place.

HCAW had the tournament-win in sight twice, as the team led two times during the game, but failed to hold onto it.

Pirates opened the score with three unearned runs in the first inning. With one out, Michael Duursma reached on an error, then Kenny Berkenbosch walked with two outs. The bases got loaded when starting pitcher Tony Kreisel gave up a single to Bas de Jong. Moments later, Percy Isenia cleared the bases with a 3-run single to give Amsterdam an early lead.

HCAW answered with two runs in the first at bat off of Jos de Jong. Linoy Croes led off with a double and scored when next hitter Jasper Keijzer reached on a throwing error. The latter advanced on a wild pitch and then scored on another error on a grounder by Sergino Martis.

In the third inning, HCAW scored three more runs when the Amsterdam-defense again committed two errors. Linoy Croes singled and Jasper Keijzer walked, then the first was forced out on a grounder by Jorin van Amstel. The bases were then loaded when Sergino Martis reached on an error. After a flyout accounted for the second out, all three runners scored when a hit by Rossini Frolijk was missed in leftfield, giving HCAW a 5-3 lead.

In the fourth inning, Amsterdam tied the score off of reliever Marco Schel. Percy Isenia then walked and Rashid Gerard doubled. A wild pitch and a single by Bas Nooij then made it 5-5.

HCAW took a 6-5 lead in the home of the fifth off of closer Jurrian Koks. Jasper Keijzer then reached on the third error in the game by short stop Jesse Aussems and went on to score on a double by Sergino Martis.

In the top of the sixth, Pirates made it a 6-6 score off of new pitcher Gijs van Els. Rashid Gerard walked and Bas Nooij followed with a ground-rule double and then it was a sacrifice fly by Jesse Aussems that tied the score.

Mr. Cocker HCAW - L&D Amsterdam Pirates 6-6 (6)
L&D Amsterdam Pirates300201 -665
Mr. Cocker HCAW203010 -641
pitchers Piratesinn.SOBBHRER
Jos de Jong42125-
Jurrian Koks21-21-
pitchers HCAWinn.SOBBHRER
Tony Kreisel32223-
Marco Schel, BS (1)1-1222
Daley Paalvast1--1--
Gijs van Els, BS (1)1-1111
Umpires: HP-Fred Groenewegen, 1B-Niek Elshof, 3B-Winfried Berkvens.
Official Scorers-Feiko Drost, Gyorgyike Horvath.
Time-1:52 hr.

(April 6)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2014 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.