Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: November 5, 2018
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2018
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar
International Baseball
Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2018 by Marco Stoovelaar

(Story by Marco Stoovelaar; Photos by Henk Seppen)

Andrelton Simmons wins fourth Gold Glove Award

NEW YORK CITY, New York (USA) - Curaçao-born Andrelton Simmons has won his fourth Gold Glove Award. The winners were announced on Sunday-evening (November 4). For the short stop of the Los Angels Angels it is the second year in a row that he voted best short stop in the American League.

...Andrelton Simmons playing for the Netherlands during...
...the 2017 World Baseball Classic...
(© Photo: Henk Seppen)
The 29-year old Simmons first won the Award in 2013 when he played for Atlanta Braves in the National League. He then also won the Gold Glove Award in two consecutive years, as he won his second one in 2014.

In 2013, Simmons also won the Platinum Glove Award for the best defensive player in the National League.

In 2013 and 2017, Simmons played for the Netherlands National Team in the World Baseball Classic. Both times, the team reached the Semi-Final.

Ozzie Smith is the recordholder with 13 Gold Gloves won by a short stop. The most Gold Gloves won by one player is 18, which was done by pitcher Greg Maddux, who won 13 of them in a row (1990-2002).

The most Gold Gloves won by a Dutch player is ten, which was accomplished by centerfielder Andruw Jones, who played in the Major League in 1996-2012 for Atlanta Braves (1996-2007), Los Angeles Dodgers (2008), Texas Rangers (2009), Chicago White Sox (2010) and New York Yankees (2011-2012). Thereafter, he played two seasons in Japan for Tohoku Rakuten Golden Eagles (2014-2014). Jones won all his Gold Gloves when he played for Atlanta. Other players who won 10 Gold Gloves are Roberto Alomar (2nd base), Johnny Bench (catcher), Ken Griffey, Jr. (outfielder), Al Kaline (outfielder), Mike Schmidt (3rd base), Ichiro Suzuki (outfielder) and Omar Vizquel (short stop). Eight other players won the Award 11 times or more, led by Greg Maddux (18), who is followed by Brooks Robinson (3rd base) and Jim Kaat (pitcher), who both won 16 Gold Gloves. The others are Iván Rodríguez (catcher, 13), Ozzie Smith (short stop, 13), Roberto Clemente (outfielder, 12), Willie Mays (outfielder, 12) and Keith Hernandez (1st base, 11).

...Andruw Jones enters the field as Bench Coach of the...
...Netherlands during the 2016 European Championship... Hoofddorp (Netherlands)...
(© Photo: Henk Seppen)
Former Angels second baseman Ian Kinsler also won a Gold Glove. On July 31, Kinsler was traded to Boston Red Sox with whom he won the World Series. It marked only the twelfth time that a double play-combination of the same team won a Gold Glove in the same season. The last time was two years ago when Brandon Crawford (SS) and Joe Panik (2B) won as players of San Francisco Giants. The last time that it was done by an American League-team was 2010. Back then, New York Yankees-players Derek Jeter (SS) and Robinson Canó (2B).

In the National League, there were two winners for the first base-position, as Anthony Rizzo and Freddie Freeman ended in a tie. It was only the third time in history that there was a tie for one position. The last time was in 2007 when Aaron Rowand and Jeff Francoeur both won a Gold Glove as an outfielder, also in the National League. The first time was in 1985. In that year, Dave Winfield and Gary Pettis ended in a tie for third place in the outfield-category, which was the only time in the American League. From 1961 through 2010, the three best outfielders won the Award, whatever position they played. That changed from 2011 on. In the first four years of the Award, the positions also were specified.

The Rawlings Gold Glove Award is handed each year to the players who have showed superior individual fielding performances at each of the nine defensive positions in both the National and American League. The winners are voted by the Managers and Coaches in each league, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

The Gold Glove was first handed out in 1957 when it was introduced by glove-manufacturer Rawlings, which was founded in 1887 in St. Louis by brothers George and Alfred Rawlings. Back then, there was one Award for the best player per positon in the Major League. From 1958, the best players in each league are honored.

...Zack Greinke pitching for Arizona Diamondbacks in...
...March 2017 against the Netherlands in an exhibition game... Phoenix (USA) to prepare for the World Baseaball Classic...
(© Photo: Henk Seppen)
The winners this year are:

National League
1B-Anthony Rizzo (Chicago Cubs) & Freddie Freeman (Atlanta Braves), 2B-DJ LeMahieu (Colorado Rockies, 2nd in a row), 3B-Nolan Arenado (Colorado Rockies, 6th in a row), SS-Nick Ahmed (Arizona Diamondbacks), LF-Corey Dickerson (Pittsburgh Pirates), CF-Ender Inciarte (Atlanta Braves, 3rd in a row), RF-Nick Markakis (Atanta Braves), C-Yadier Molina (St. Louis Cardinals, 9th time), P-Zack Greinke (Arizona Diamondbacks, 5th in a row).

American League
1B-Matt Olson (Oakland Athletics), 2B-Ian Kinsler (Los Angeles Angels/Boston Red Sox), 3B-Matt Chapman (Oakland Athletics), SS-Andrelton Simmons (Los Angeles Angels, 2nd in a row, 4th overall), LF-Alex Gordon (Kansas City Royals, 2nd in a row, 6th overall), CF-Jackie Bradley, Jr. (Boston Red Sox), RF-Mookie Betts (Boston Red Sox, 3rd in a row), C-Salvador Pérez (Kansas City Royals, 5th time), P-Dallas Keuchel (Houston Astros, 4th time).

(November 4)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2018 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.