Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: March 7, 2011
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2011
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar

Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2011 by Marco Stoovelaar

Dutch Team wins memorial game
ST. PETERSBURG, Florida (USA) - On Monday-evening, the Dutch Baseball Team won 7-5 vs. the team of Eckerd College in a benefit game that was played in remembrance of three police officers of the St. Petersburg Police Department, who all died in the last months in the line of duty. All proceeds of this game will go to the families of these three policemen.

Before the game, which was played at Turley Athletic Complex, there was an impressive memorial service. The police-cars of the three officers were driven onto the field with the lights on and accompanied by colleagues of their unit. This was the first time since 1980, that three police officers were killed in such a short span in three separated incidents. The Dutch National Team donated equipment for an auction. Eckerd College has a special link with the SPPD, as a lot of their officers attended this school.

...Police-officers pay respect to their colleagues...
(© Photo: Henk Seppen)
The Dutch Team initially took a quick 5-0 lead against the Tritons. However, when seven innings were played, Eckerd had come alongside. In the eighth inning, the Dutch re-took the lead immediately when Michael Duursma and Danny Rombley both scored on a basehit by Bryan Engelhardt. In total, six Dutch pitchers were used in this game.

The Dutch Team had faced Eckerd College before during their preparations for the World Baseball Classic in 2006 and 2009.

Playing for the Dutch Team were:
C - Jason Halman (Bas Nooij)
1B - Jeffrey Arends (Bryan Engelhardt)
2B - Michael Pluijmers (Dwayne Kemp)
3B - Rien Vernooij (Raily Legito)
SS - Michael Duursma
LF - Eugène Kingsale (Roelie Henrique)
CF - Shaldimar Daantji (Danny Rombley)
RF - Bas de Jong (Dirk van 't Klooster)
DH - Sidney de Jong (Bas de Jong)
P - Kevin Miner (3 inn.), Jurjen van Zijl (2), Nick Veltkamp (1), Orlando Yntema (1), Leon Boyd (1), Nick Stuifbergen (1)

(March 7)

...Left: Coaches Brian Farley, Wim Martinus, Tjerk Smeets and Ben Thijssen are impressed by the memorial...
...Right: Emotions after the throwing of the ceremonial first pitch...
(© Photos: Henk Seppen)

...Dutch rookie starter Kevin Miner...
(© Photo: Henk Seppen)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2011 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.