Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: July 14, 2011
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2011
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar

Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2011 by Marco Stoovelaar

Orange Roster for European Championship announced
NIEUWEGEIN (Neth.) - After completion of the practice session of Wednesday, July 13, Dutch National Team Head Coach Craig Montvidas announced his selection for this years European Championship, which opens on July 31 and will be held in Italy.

Before today's practice session, there were 21 players on the roster, meaning four players were cut. These four will remain on the list as alternates, making them eligible to be recalled to the squad if needed or in case of injuries.

During the European Championship, the coaching staff will be expanded by Tracy Bunge, who also was with the squad last year, including participation in the World Championship in Venezuela.

The roster has no rookies, but pitcher Ginger de Weert is selected for her first official tournament. Earlier this year, Ginger was one of the 22 players participating with the Dutch squad in the American Tour to Florida and Tennessee. She also was a member of the squad during the Holland Tours of 2009 and 2010, but then didn't made the final roster.

Pitcher Rebecca Soumeru will participate in her sixth European Championship, which will be her 30th official tournament as a member of the Dutch National Softball Team. For Outfielder Saskia Kosterink, this will be her fourth European Championship. During the event, Saskia has the opportunity to play in her 100th official international game in the national squad, as she is six games shy of reaching this milestone.

The Dutch National Team opens the European Championship playing in Group B, meeting Belgium, Denmark, Spain and Ukraine. The Dutch Team opens on July 31 vs. Ukraine, then meets Belgium and Spain on August 1 and closes the preliminary round on August 2 vs. Denmark. Then, on August 3, the second round will start. The final is scheduled for August 6.

The 17 players selected for the European Championship Roster are:

Dagmar Bloeming, Rebecca Soumeru (both Oolders Omaco Sparks Haarlem), Lindsey Meadows (Nuoro, Italy) and Ginger de Weert (Iber Lengua Terrasvogels).
Anne Blaauwgeers (Alcmaria Victrix), Nathalie Timmermans (Oolders Omaco Sparks Haarlem) and Karin Tuk (Tex Town Tigers).
Virginie Anneveld, Chantal Versluis (both Oolders Omaco Sparks Haarlem), Britt Vonk (Tex Town Tigers) and Meike Witteveen (Iber Lengua Terrasvogels).
Areke Spel (Oolders Omaco Sparks Haarlem), Nathalie Gosewehr (Caserta, Italy), Saskia Kosterink (Bollate, Italy), Merel Oosterveld (Tex Town Tigers), Solange Starrenburg (Iber Lengua Terrasvogels) and Fabienne van Uden (Twins).

Craig Montvidas (Head Coach), Karen Marr (Coach), Tracy Bunge (Coach), Paul Boonstra (Team Manager), Marco Stoovelaar (Media Officer/Scorer) and Anouk Fermont (Physical Therapist).

(July 14)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2011 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.