Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: Novemmber 18, 2011
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2011
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar

Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2011 by Marco Stoovelaar

World title Sports Moment of the Month in De Telegraaf-poll
AMSTERDAM (Neth.) - The capturing of the World Title by the Dutch Baseball Team got a record amount of votes and was named the Most Memorable Sports Moment of the Month October in the monthly poll of De Telegraaf-newspaper, which this year is supported for the first time by De Lotto (national lottery).

More than 20.000 votes were casted and 92 percent of that went to the successful baseball squad. Following at second place was the Dutch Bridge Team (world champion), which received four percent of the votes. Rounding out the top-5 for October were Bas Verwijlen (silver World Champion fencing) (2%), Li Jiao (European Champion table tennis) (1%) and Marichelle de Jong (European Champion boxing) (1%).

The winner of the Sports Moment of the Month gets a cheque of 2000 Euro from De Lotto to be donated to a talent, talentplan or social project within his, hers or theirs sport.

At the end of the year the Lotto Sports Moment of the Year will be chosen from the twelve monthly winners.

The winners of this year are so far:
January - Marianne Vos (cycling; world champion)
February - Ireen Wüst (speed skating; world champion allround)
March - Ireen Wüst (speed skating; world champion)
April - Epke Zonderland (gymnastics; European champion)
May - Pieter Weening (cycling; winning 5th leg Giro d'Italia)
June - Steven Kruijswijk (cycling; 3rd place Tour of Switzerland)
July - Johnny Hoogerland (cycling; winning 'bolletjestrui' Tour de France)
August - Dutch Women Hockey Team (hockey; European champion)
September - Bauke Mollema (cycling; 2nd place Giro dell'Emilia)
October - Dutch Baseball Team (baseball; World champion)

Currently, the Baseball Team also leads the overall Lotto Sport Index, sharing first place with Ranomi Kromowidjojo (swimming) and the Dutch Women Swimming Team.
The top-3 is followed by:
4. Ireen Wüst (speed skating)
5. Marianne Vos (cycling)
6. Nicolien Sauerbreij (snowboarding) and Marleen Veldhuis (swimming)

(November 18)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2011 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.