Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: June 5, 2014
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2014
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar
Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2014 by Marco Stoovelaar

All Star Game starters and rosters announced
NIEUWEGEIN (Neth.) - The Royal Dutch Baseball and Softball Association (KNBSB) today (Thursday, June 5) announced the starters and rosters for the two teams that will face each other in the annual All Star Game.

The fifth edition of the All Star Game will be played on Sunday, June 15 at the new stadium of Vaessen Pioniers in Hoofddorp, starting at 4:15 PM. Batting practice starts at 1:00 PM.

Team North is compiled of players from L&D Amsterdam Pirates, Mr. Cocker HCAW, Vaessen Pioniers and Corendon Kinheim.
Team South is filled with players from DOOR Neptunus, Mampaey The Hawks, ADO Lakers and UVV.

The two teams are led by the Head coaches who played in the Holland Series the previous season. Team North is led by Robert Klaver (Vaessen Pioniers), while Team South is headed by Evert-Jan 't Hoen of Dutch champion DOOR Neptunus.

Both teams have won two previous games. Team North won last year and in 2011, while Team South won the first All Star Game in 2010 and then again in 2012.

Beginning a 2:00 PM will be the Homerun Derby. Participating this year in the homerun contest are Christian Diaz (ADO Lakers), Dennis De Quint (UVV), Bryan Engelhardt (Corendon Kinheim), Bas de Jong (L&D Amsterdam Pirates), Raily Legito (DOOR Neptunus), Kevin Weijgertse (Mr. Cocker HCAW) and Steven Wharwood (Mampaey The Hawks).

Last year, the homerun contest was won by Rudy Van Heydoorn, who this season is playing in Italy.

Veteran pitchers Rob Cordemans (L&D Amsterdam Pirates) and Diegomar Markwell (DOOR Neptunus) got the most votes and will be the starting pitchers for Team North and Team South respectively. It will mark the fourth time for both that they will start the All Star Game. Cordemans didn't start in 2012, Markwell didn't start in 2010.

The starters for Team North are:
P - Rob Cordemans (L&D Amsterdam Pirates)
C - Bas Nooij (L&D Amsterdam Pirates)
1B - Kevin Weijgertse (Mr. Cocker HCAW)
2B - Zerzinho Croes (Vaessen Pioniers)
3B - Vince Rooi (Vaessen Pioniers)
SS - Michael Duursma (L&D Amsterdam Pirates)
LF - Quintin De Cuba (Corendon Kinheim)
CF - Danny Rombley (Vaessen Pioniers)
RF - Dirk van 't Klooster (Vaessen Pioniers)
DH - Bryan Engelhardt (Corendon Kinheim)

The non-starters are:
Jeffrey Arends, Dashenko Ricardo (both Corendon Kinheim), Kenny Berkenbosch, Bas de Jong (both L&D Amsterdam Pirates), Linoy Croes (Mr. Cocker HCAW) and Max Draijer (Vaessen Pioniers).

In the bullpen for Team North are:
Arshwin Asjes, David Bergman (both Corendon Kinheim), Bayron Cornelisse, Ricardo Hernandez Sanchez, Sedley Karel (all Vaessen Pioniers), Ivan Granados, Maickel Rietel (both Mr. Cocker HCAW) and Kevin Heijstek (L&D Amsterdam Pirates).

The starters for Team South are:
P - Diegomar Markwell (DOOR Neptunus)
C - Gianison Boekhoudt (DOOR Neptunus)
1B - Gyenuar Lopez (DOOR Neptunus)
2B - Benjamin Dille (DOOR Neptunus)
3B - Raily Legito (DOOR Neptunus)
SS - Dennis De Quint (UVV)
LF - Steven Wharwood (Mampaey The Hawks)
CF - Shaldimar Daantji (DOOR Neptunus)
RF - Christian Diaz (ADO Lakers)
DH - Berry van Donselaar (Mampaey The Hawks)

The non-starters are:
Sam van Dijck, Norbert Jongerius, Gilmer Lampe (all UVV), Dwayne Kemp, Urving Kemp (both DOOR Neptunus) and Gregory Trinidad (Mampaey The Hawks)

In the bullpen for Team South are:
Timo van Ancum, Jurandy Girigori (both ADO Lakers), Berry van Driel, Misja Harcksen, Orlando Yntema (all DOOR Neptunus), Henk van Heijningen, Kevin van Veen (both Mampaey The Hawks) and Jurjen van Zijl (UVV).

(June 5)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2014 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.