Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: June 27, 2013
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2013
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar
Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2013 by Marco Stoovelaar

Dutch Team roster announced for European Championship
NIEUWEGEIN (Neth.) - Dutch National Softball Team Head Coach Craig Montvidas has announced his roster of 17 players for the upcoming European Championship, which will be held July 7-13 in the Czech capital of Prague.

The Dutch Team will play two final exhibition games on Sunday, June 30 to conclude its Holland Tour. At Sportpark Toolenburg, the site of Hoofddorp Pioniers in Hoofddorp, a double-header will be played against Team AIST, a Travel Team from the USA, starting at 1 PM.

The Dutch Softball Team is reigning European champion. In 2009, when first led by Montvidas, is recaptured the title in Valencia (Spain) after 19 years. Two years ago, in 2011 in Ronchi Dei Legionari (Italy), the Dutch squad prolonged to title, defeating Italy in the final game.

In the upcoming European Championship, the Dutch Team opens the Preliminary Round in Pool B. The Orange squad opens the event on Sunday, July 7 at 12:30 PM against Spain, then meets Croatia on Monday, July 8 (12:30 PM) and concludes against Slovakia on Tuesday, July 9 (12:30 PM). The Second Round then starts on Wednesday, July 10.

Pool A is formed by Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Hungary and Switzerland. In Pool C, Denmark, Germany, Great Britain, Israel and Russia will meet each other. Pool D is compiled of France, Italy, Poland, Sweden and Ukraine.

The Dutch roster is compiled of experienced players, who have been active in the Dutch big league and the National Team for several years. There are no rookies in the squad, but Dinet Oosting and Marisèla de Wind have been selected for the first time for a major tournament. Both have been part of the Dutch Team during two American Tours in 2011 and 2012, playing against (Division I) college-teams. Besides these two, Yonina Sint Jago also will play in her first European Championship, but she already was with the team during last years World Championship in Canada.

Five players have been selected who play for Oolders Omaco Sparks Haarlem. FysioExpert Olympia Haarlem and Hotel Ambassador c.c. Terrasvogels each have three players in the National Team. One player comes from reigning champion Alcmaria Victrix, but she also plays in the American Division I for the University of California at Berkeley. The five remaining players are active this season in the highest Italian League.

The roster for the European Championship looks as follows:

Dagmar Bloeming (DES Caserta, Italy), Femke van Dusschoten (Rhibo La Loggia, Italy), Lindsey Meadows (+OF)(FysioExpert Olympia Haarlem), Rebecca Soumeru (Oolders Omaco Sparks Haarlem) and Ginger de Weert (Hotel Ambassador c.c. Terrasvogels).

Anne Blaauwgeers (+1B)(Rhibo La Loggia, Italy), Dinet Oosting (+IF)(FysioExpert Olympia Haarlem), Nathalie Timmermans (DES Caserta, Italy) and Karin Tuk (Oolders Omaco Sparks Haarlem).

Virginie Anneveld, Chantal Versluis (both Oolders Omaco Sparks Haarlem) and Britt Vonk (Alcmaria Victrix/Univ. of Cal, Berkeley).

Nathalie Gosewehr (Oolders Omaco Sparks Haarlem), Saskia Kosterink (+1B)(Sanotint Bollate, Italy), Merel Oosterveld (+IF)(FysioExpert Olympia Haarlem), Yonina Sint Jago (+IF) and Marisèla de Wind (+1B)(both Hotel Ambassador c.c. Terrasvogels).

...Marisèla de Wind, Dinet Oosting & Yonina Sint Jago will participate in their first European Championship...
(© Photos: Marco Stoovelaar)

(June 27)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2013 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.