Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: April 1, 2012
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2012
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar

Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2012 by Marco Stoovelaar

Vaessen Pioniers, Sparta-Feyenoord, UVV win tournaments
BUSSUM / ROTTERDAM / VLEUTEN (Neth.) - Vaessen Pioniers on Sunday won the 30th edition of the In Memoriam Charles Urbanus Sr. Tournament, which came a week after the team remained unbeaten and won the MJFP Jan van de Vegte Memorial in Nijmegen (the recaps of this event will be added later this week). Sparta-Feyenoord won it's third game in two days to win the Hudson John Tournament, while host UVV also won it's own tournament, the Jersey53 Cup.

For all big league-teams, these games were the final preparations for the upcoming regular season, which opens next Thursday-evening, April 5. The weathermen predict a very cold opening evening, as their might be freezing temperatures.

The scheduled games for Opening Day are
Vaessen Pioniers vs. Corendon Kinheim, at Hoofddorp
AamigoO ADO Lakers vs. Mr. Cocker HCAW, at The Hague
DOOR Neptunus vs. Sparta-Feyenoord, at Rotterdam
UVV vs. L&D Amsterdam Pirates, at Vleuten

All games start at 7:30 PM.

In Memoriam Charles Urbanus Sr. Tournament
On Day 3 of this tournament, Dutch champion L&D Amsterdam Pirates opened with a surprising 2-0 loss vs. AamigoO ADO Lakers. Another surprise score followed, as in the next game, ADO lost 3-1 to Robur '58, which plays in the second highest league. A win would have given ADO the tournament-win, but now the team's only possibility to win the event was a victory by Mr. Cocker HCAW against Vaessen Pioniers later in the day. In that case, ADO and HCAW would end in a tie, but as ADO had won the face-to-face contest, it would have been awarded first place. But in the end, this scenario was adjusted later in the day.

In the third game of the day, Vaessen Pioniers shutout Robur '58 5-0 to set up the all-deciding game against host Mr. Cocker HCAW. A game which would decide first place: either Pioniers or ADO. In a very close game, Pioniers won the game 2-1 to move into first place and take the tournament win.

The last time Pioniers won the event was in 2008 and 2009. Last year, Corendon Kinheim was the winner.

More details will be added when available

Final Standings
1Vaessen Pioniers42-26
2AamigoO ADO Lakers42115
3Mr. Cocker HCAW41213
4L&D Amsterdam Pirates41213
5Robur '5841113

Individual Awards
Most Valuable PlayerSidney de JongL&D Amsterdam Pirates
Best HitterMichael DuursmaVaessen Pioniers
Best PitcherMathijs NaujoksRobur '58

Hudson John Tournament
Sparta-Feyenoord remained unbeaten on Day 3 of the 14th edition of this tournament by winning 9-1 vs. Brasschaat Braves from Belgium to become the winner of the event. Sparta-Feyenoord last won the tournament in 2010, while DOOR Neptunus was the winner last year.

The day started with a 7-2 victory of The Hawks vs. Orioles. The second game of the day, and last in the event, was decisive for first place, as the winner would take the tournament-win. As mentioned, Sparta-Feyenoord convincingly won 9-1 to remain unbeaten and win the event.

Trailing 1-0, Sparta-Feyenoord scored three runs with two outs in the first inning, including two on an error. The game then remained scoreless for the next four innings, but then Sparta-Feyenoord added four more runs in the sixth at bat on a double by Churandy La Cruz and singles by Siegert Flaneur and Jarred Duin. A throwing error in the seventh inning accounted for two more runs to make it 9-1. Starter Gregory Gustina gave up seven hits in six innings, before being relieved by Lenko Elisabeth.

More details will be added when available

Final Standings
2The Hawks312-2
4Brasschaat Braves312-2

Individual Awards
Most Valuable PlayerDerrick IseniaBrasschaat Braves
Best HitterKevin van NederpeltSparta-Feyenoord

Jersey53 Cup
Day 3 of the first edition of this tournament began with an 1-1 tie between Mannheim Tornados (Germany) and Kotlarka Praha (Czech Republic). As was the case in the other two tournaments, mentioned above, the final game of the event would decide first place. In this game, host UVV won 3-1 vs. DOOR Neptunus to become the tournament-winner.

More details will be added when available

Final Standings
2DOOR Neptunus321-4
3Kotlarka Praha31113
4Mannheim Tornados3-211

Individual Awards
Most Valuable PlayerRyan MurphyUVV
Best HitterDanny RombleyUVV
Best PitcherKevin HeijstekDOOR Neptunus

(April 1)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2012 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.