Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: September 5, 2012
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2012
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar

Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2012 by Marco Stoovelaar

Dutch Team also wins 2nd game vs. Germany
VLEUTEN (Neth.) - The Dutch National Baseball Team on Wednesday-evening also won the second exhibition game against Germany, this time with an 8-4 score.

Today, five more professional players arrived to join the national squad, being pitcher Loek van Mil, Tom Stuifbergen and Juan Carlos Sulbaran, 1st baseman Curt Smith and infielder Hainley Statia. They joined infielder Nick Urbanus and outfielder Kalian Sams, who already arrived the day before. Smith, Statia, Urbanus and Sams all played in tonight's game. Manager Brian Farley will announced his final roster for the upcoming European Championship in Thursday-afternoon. The final rosters have to be handed in on Thursday-evening during the Technical Meeting. The Dutch Team opens the Championship against Belgium on Friday-evening in Rotterdam, starting at 7:30 PM.

...The ceremonial first pitch is thrown...
(© Photo: Marco Stoovelaar)
Tonight, the Dutch Team was held to only three hits and one run in the first four innings, but then scored seven runs in the next three at bats. The team was more productive offensily tonight as opposed to the first game, hitting 10 basehits, four of them by Quintin de Cuba, including a double and a homerun.

The Dutch Team scored its first run in the second inning when Quintin de Cuba singled with one out, moved on a passed ball and scored on a 2-out single by Wesley Connor.

In the fourth inning, Germany took a 2-1 lead off of starter Orlando Yntema. Sascha Brockmeyer and Christopher Howard led off with singles, then moved on a sac-bunt by Kevin Kotowski. The bases were loaded when Yntema walked Julius Uelschen. Next, the righthander gave up an RBI-single to Lukas Jahn, then a sacrifice fly by Jendrick Speer made it 2-1.

The Orange re-took the lead in the fifth inning, thanks to a 3-run rally. Maurice Wilhelm, the third German pitcher, hit the first batter he faced, Dwayne Kemp, who then advanced on a passed ball and a bunt-single, which rolled down the third base-line to remain on fair territory, by Michael Duursma. Hainley Statia then followed with a sac-fly to tie the score. Next, an error on a force play-grounder by Bryan Engelhardt loaded the bases. With two outs, a double by Bryan Engelhardt led to two runs and a 4-2 lead.

Three runs were added in the sixth inning off new pitcher Adrian Stommel. With two outs, Michael Duursma and Nick Urbanus walked, then a single by Rudy van Heydoorn produced a run. A double by Bryan Engelhardt gave him two more runs batted in and lifted the lead to 7-2.

A lead-off homerun by Quintin de Cuba off Dominique Hartinger then made it 8-2 in the seventh inning.

David Bergman took over the pitching for the Dutch Team in the fifth inning and retired all six batters he faced. Bergman started with a strikeout, then he made a great play on a comeback-grounder for the second out.

Diegomar Markwell and Berry van Driel then each threw a scoreless inning, before Arshwin Asjes took over in the ninth inning and gave up two runs. First, the closer gave up a lead-off single to Kevin Kotowski. With one out, Ludwig Glaser was awarded first base on catcher's interference, then the bases were loaded when Jendrick Speer walked. After a strikeout, a single by Max Boldt enabled two runners to score and narrowed the deficit to 8-4, before a grounder ended the inning and the game.

Tonight's line-up and batting order was as follows:
1. Michael Duursma (3B), 2. Hainley Statia (SS), 3. Curt Smith (1B), 4. Bryan Engelhardt (DH), 5. Kalian Sams (CF),
6. Quintin de Cuba (C), 7. Danny Rombley (RF), 8. Wesley Connor (LF), 9. Dwayne Kemp (2B).
In the top of the 6th inning, Nick Urbanus took over at short and Rudy van Heydoorn became the new catcher with De Cuba moving to 1st base. In the bottom of the 6th inning, Shaldimar Daantji pinch-hit for Sams and took over in centerfield in the 7th inning.
Orlando Yntema was the starting pitcher and threw four innings. David Bergman (2 innings), Diegomar Markwell (1 inn.), Berry van Driel (1 inn.) and Arshwin Asjes (1 inn.) threw in relief.

For-the-record, tonight's umpires were Roy van de Wateringen (HP), Winfried Berkvens (1B) and Fred Groenewegen (3B) with Fred van Groningen Schinkel being the Technical Commissioner. Stefan Slinger and Huub Nelissen were the Official Scorers.

(September 5)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2012 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.