Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: April 7, 2013
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2013
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar

Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2013 by Marco Stoovelaar

Pioniers, Kinheim register one-run wins on Urbanus Tournament
BUSSUM (Neth.) - Vaessen Pioniers and Corendon Kinheim won their final games of the 31st In Memoriam Charles Urbanus, Sr. Tournament on Sunday with an one-run difference victory to close the annual event. Pioniers won 1-0 against host Mr. Cocker HCAW, while Day 3 began with an 2-1 win of Kinheim vs. L&D Amsterdam Pirates. Despite the loss, HCAW won the event, as mentioned in Saturday's recap. It marked the seventh time that HCAW was the tournament-winner, but the first time since 2005.

In 1981, the tournament was held for the first time and organized by Amsterdam-based Amstel Tijgers at its site on Sportpark Sloten. The club named the event after Charles Urbanus, Sr., the legendary baseball-coach of OVVO and the Dutch National Team in the fifties and sixties, who passed away in August 1980. In the seventies, Amstel Tijgers was a spin-off of OVVO. Towards the end of 1988, Amstel Tijgers merged with Bussum-club HCAW, which had relegated earlier in the year from the big league. Because of the merger, HCAW remained in the big league and went to play in the next four years under the name HCAW-Tijgers. After the Urbanus Tournament took place in the Pim Mulier Stadium in Haarlem in 1988 and 1989, it moved to Bussum, where it is being held every year since 1990.

Because Kinheim won against Amsterdam, the reigning champion ended in second place. Amsterdam followed in third place and Pioniers, the winner of last year, finished in fourth place.

Danny Rombley of Pioniers was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament, while Kevin Heijstek of Amsterdam won the award for Best Pitcher. Percy Isenia of Pirates was the tournament's Best Hitter.

With the tournament, the exhibition season ended. Coming Thursday, the new season opens with Game One of a 3-games series. Mr. Cocker HCAW then opens at home against UVV, while Corendon Kinheim plays host to Vaessen Pioniers. L&D Amsterdam Pirates travels to ADO Lakers and DOOR Neptunus meets Mampaey The Hawks, which will make its debut in the highest league.

There are two changes to this years schedule. The team that play at home on Thursday, also play at home on Saturday, then travel to their opponent for Sunday's game. In case a Thursday-game is cancelled it will be re-scheduled for the next day (Friday).

Game 5: L&D Amsterdam Pirates vs. Corendon Kinheim
The game between the two champions of the last two years ended in a 2-1 win for reigning champion Kinheim.

Both teams were retired in order in the first at bat, then Kinheim opened the score in the next inning. Amsterdam-starter Jos de Jong gave up a lead-off single to Bryan Engelhardt, who then scored when Jeffrey Arends followed with a double. De Jong then struckout the next two batters and a groundout ended the at bat, but Kinheim had taken the lead.

De Jong held Kinheim scoreless in the next two at bats. In the third, Remco Draijer led off with a single for Kinheim, but was caught stealing. In the fourth, Bryan Engelhardt singled with one out, moved on a wild pitch and a grounder, but stranded on third base.

Kinheim doubled its lead in the fifth inning. Niels van Weert then led off with a walk and moved to third base on two following grounders. Hereafter, Mervin Gario doubled to bring home Van Weert.

Trailing 1-0, Amsterdam got the bases loaded in the home of the second, but failed to score. Kenny Berkenbosch led off with a single and moved on a wild pitch. With one out, Bas Nooij walked and the bases got loaded when Jesse Aussems reached on an error. But then Raoell Kortstam lined out to starting pitcher Steven van Groningen and Roelie Henrique grounded out to end the inning, leaving the bases loaded.

Amsterdam left several more runners in the next innings. In the third, Amsterdam got another runner on third base when Björn Hato doubled with one out and moved on a wild pitch, but he also was left behind, as a double play ended the inning. In the fourth, Bas Nooij walked with one out, then Jean-Paul Gulinck was brought in as new pitcher. The lefthander gave up a 2-out single to Raoell Kortstam, but this time a flyout ended the at bat. In the fifth, Michael Duursma led off with a single, which brought in new pitcher Pim Walsma. Moments later, Duursma was forced out on a grounder by Björn Hato, who moved on a grounder, but then was picked off, ending the inning.

Trailing 2-0, Amsterdam scored its lone run in the home of the seventh inning off of Arshwin Asjes. With two outs, Roelie Henrique singled and scored when Michael Duursma followed with a double.

L&D Amsterdam Pirates - Corendon Kinheim 1-2
Corendon Kinheim0100100-251
L&D Amsterdam Pirates0000001-160
pitchers Kinheiminn.SOBBHRER
Steven van Groningen, W (1-0)3.1222--
Jean-Paul Gulinck, H (2)0.2--2--
Pim Walsma, H (1)1-----
Arshwin Asjes, SV (2)22-211
pitchers Amsterdam Piratesinn.SOBBHRER
Jos de Jong, L (0-1)5.241522
Jurrian Koks1.111---
Umpires: HP-fred Groenewegen, 1B-Rob Has, 3B-John Beltman.
Official Scorers-Fred Haak, Feiko Drost.
Time-2:01 hr.

Game 6: Mr. Cocker HCAW vs. Vaessen Pioniers
In the final game of the tournament, Pioniers won 1-0 to hand HCAW its first loss of the event. The win was the first for Pioniers, which ended up in last place, while HCAW won the tournament.

After both teams left a runner in the first inning, HCAW got another runner in the next at bat, but then Pioniers scored the lone run of the game in the third. Skip Visser then led off with a double off of starter Kaj Timmermans and advanced on a following grounder by Michael Pluijmers. After Mark Duursma walked, Visser scored on a wild pitch. Danny Rombley then doubled to bring Duursma to third base, but the two stranded, as a line drive by Vince Rooi then was caught by Timmermans.

HCAW then left a runner in the home of the third and fourth, as did Pioniers in the fourth and fifth at bat. Pioniers then got the chance to add more runs in the sixth inning off of Leon Elshof. Vince Rooi walked, but was forced out on a grounder by Phil Ortez, who then advanced on a wild pitch with two outs. The bases then got loaded when Kevin Dirksen walked and Skip Visser was hit by a pitch, but a flyout left three runners.

Mr. Cocker HCAW vs. Vaessen Pioniers 4-0
Vaessen Pioniers001000 -121
Mr. Cocker HCAW000000 -031
pitchers Pioniersinn.SOBBHRER
Kevin Miner, W (1-0)4223--
Mika de Lincel, H (1)11----
Bayron Cornelisse, SV (1)1-----
pitchers HCAWinn.SOBBHRER
Kaj Timmermans, L (0-1)311211
Jasper de Heus111---
Leon Elshof212---
Umpires: HP-John Beltman, 1B-Fred Groenewegen, 3B-Rob Has.
Official Scorer-Feiko Drost.
Time-1:50 hr.

...HCAW's Head Coach receives the 1st Place Trophy from Feiko Drost...
...Standing at right is HCAW's PR-manager Frank Mooijman...
(© Photo: Alfred Cop Fotografie)

(April 7)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2013 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.