Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: April 7, 2014
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2014
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar
Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2014 by Marco Stoovelaar

Sparks Haarlem wins Jan de Wit Tournament
HAARLEM (Neth.) - Oolders Omaco Sparks Haarlem has won the annual Jan de Wit Tournament, which was held this weekend on the Nol Houtkamp Sports Complex, the home site of FysioExpert Olympia Haarlem. This also will be the site of the upcoming ISF Women's World Championship, which takes place August 15-24.

In the final on Sunday, Sparks Haarlem won 8-1 vs. Hotel Ambassador Haarlem Terrasvogels to claim first place. Host Olympia Haarlem finished in third place after winning 12-5 vs. Alcmaria Victrix. Initially, UVV was to be the fifth team in the field of participants, but they withdraw a week ago. Sparks Haarlem also won the event last year.

On Saturday, the first four games were played. Sparks Haarlem shutout Terrasvogels 8-0 and Olympia Haarlem registered a 7-0 shutout vs. Alcmaria Victrix. Later in the day, Terrasvogels nipped Olympia Haarlem 2-1, while Sparks Haarlem won 9-0 vs. Alcmaria Victrix.

On Sunday, Terrasvogels closed the round robin with a 2-1 win vs. Alcmaria Victrix. Sparks Haarlem needed eight innings to win 11-10 vs. Olympia Haarlem.

That set the scene for the final between Sparks Haarlem and Terrasvogels. Last season, the two teams faced each other in the Holland Series. Terrasvogels then won the best-of-five 3-2 to capture the Dutch championship-title. It was the second consecutive year in which Sparks Haarlem dominated in the regular season, but failed to win the title. In 2012, it lost the Holland Series vs. Alcmaria Victrix.

(April 6)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2014 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.