Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: November 27, 2014
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2014
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar
Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2014 by Marco Stoovelaar

(Story by Marco Stoovelaar; Photos by Quick Amersfoort)

No awards for Quick Amersfoort, Danny Rombley on Gala
AMERSFOORT (Neth.) - Tonight (Thursday, November 27), the women softball-team of BioSilk Quick Amersfoort was one of three teams nominated for the Sports Team of the Year Award during the fifth edition of the annual Sport Gala Amersfoort, which was held in Leerhotel Het Klooster in Amersfoort.

Danny Rombley, who is from Amersfoort and won the European Championship-title with the Netherlands Baseball Team this Summer, was nominated for Male Athlete of the Year.

This season, the combined women-team of Quick Amersfoort and Red Caps won the championship-title in the Second Division A, in which is dominated. The team, coached by Tim Zwaan and Ricardo Bryson, lost only one game and finished with a 33-1 record, while playing two ties. The team won the first 18 games of the season. The winning streak ended on June 29 when both games of the double-header against UVV 2 ended in a tie (8-8 and 1-1). It then won its next 10 consecutive games, before meeting UVV-2 again on September 21. In the first game, Quick suffered its lone loss of the season, losing 5-2, but then won the next game 8-5. Hereafter, Quick won its next four games to close the season and claim first place. As Quick Amersfoort won the championship, it will promoted to the First Division.

Also nominated for Team of the Year were Energia ALTA-1 (tennis) and AZ&PC Relay-team men (swimming), while Rombley was got company from Fabian Beimin (swimming) and Marvyn Toonen (korfball).

...The women-team of Quick Amersfoort at the Gala...
(© Photo: Quick Amersfoort)
Unfortunately, both Quick Amersfoort as well as Danny Rombley didn't win. Fabian Beimin, who won the Dutch title butterfly 200 meter, won the award for Male Athlete of the Year. Energia ALTA-1 was honored as Team of the Year. ALTA surprised this year by capturing its first-ever championship-title, defeating the defending champion in the semi-final.

The award for Female Athlete of the Year went to Elsie Nix (hockey), while Maarten Hurkmans (rowing) was named Talent of the Year.

The winner in the category Special was John van den Brom. Club of the Year was Fulmen Fidelitas (handball).

While Quick didn't won the Award, the team received a cheque of 1,000 Euros from Businessclub De Amersfoortse Hoogte.

It was reported that while the Quick-sofballteam didn't win, it was by far the best dressed team tonight.

Last year, the Male Athlete of the Year Award was handed out to Bas de Jong, who also is from Amersfoort. Playing for L&D Amsterdam Pirates, De Jong was the Best Hitter last season in the Dutch big league baseball. Next year, De Jong will return to his home city, as he will leave the big league to play for Quick Amersfoort, the club where he started his baseball-career. This season, De Jong again was the leading hitter in the regular season.

Besides announcing the winners in the above mentioned categories, the Municipality of Amersfoort also honored teams and individual athletes who won a championship-title this year.

The Sport Gala and the honoring of the champions is a mutual initiative of SRO, the Municipality Amersfoort, the Amersfoort Sports Federation, MBO Amersfoort and Businessclub De Amersfoortse Hoogte.

...Club-chairman Mark van Horik (left) with some of the...
...players and coach Tim Zwaan (background)...
...The photo was made by Alderman Hans Buijtelaar...

...After the Gala ended, some players of Quick Amersfoort...
...pose with Jeroen Stomphorst, who hosted the evening...

(© Photos: Quick Amersfoort)

(November 27)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2014 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.