Grand Slam * Stats & News
Updated: October 25, 2013
Scores & Statistics
Baseball Scores & Stats
Softball Women Scores & Stats
Softball Men Scores & Stats
Copyright © 1997-2013
Grand Slam/Marco Stoovelaar
Compiled and Copyright © 1997-2013 by Marco Stoovelaar

ISF awards two Softball World Championships to Canada
CARTAGENA (Colombia) - The International Softball Federation (ISF) awarded the organization of two future World Championships to Canada and another one to the USA. The announcement was made on Friday (October 25) during the Congress of the ISF in Cartagena (Colombia).

During the Congress, which ends on Saturday, Canadian Dale McMann succeeded American Don Porter as President of the ISF.

The 15th ISF Women's World Championship of 2016 has been awarded to Surrey, British Columbia (Canada). This means that the Championship returns again to Canada after four years. Last year, the Championship was held in Whitehorse, Yukon and was won by Japan. The next Championship will be held next year (August 15-24) in the city of Haarlem (Netherlands), marking the first time that the event will be held in Europe. Surrey has a long history of hosting major international softball events. It is the home of the annual Canada Cup, which was renamed into Canadian Open Fastpitch International Championship in 2010.

The 15th ISF Men's World Championship of 2017 also will be held in Canada with Whitehorse, Yukon as playing site. Besides hosting last years Women's World Championship, whitehorse also was the site for the 2008 edition of the Junior's Men World Championship. Next year, the Junior Men's Championship will be held again in Whitehorse. This year, the Men's World Championship took place in Auckland (New Zealand) and won by host New Zealand. The next Championship will be held in 2015 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan (Canada) (June 26-July 5).

The ISF awarded the organization for the 11th ISF Junior Men's World Championship for 2016 to Midland, Michigan (USA). In 1996, Midland hosted the Men's World Championship. Last year, the Junior Men's Championship were held in Parana (Argentina) and won by Argentina. The next edition will be held next year in Whitehorse (Canada), July 11-20.

Bids for the organization of the 12th ISF Junior Women's World Championship for 2017 have yet to be presented to the ISF. This year, the Championship was held in Brampton (Canada) and won by Japan. The next Championship takes place August 7-16, 2015 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma (USA).

Since a few years, all ISF World Championships are being held every two years.

(October 25)

Thank you for visiting this site.
Mail your suggestions and questions to
Copyright © 1997-2013 Marco Stoovelaar / Grand Slam * Stats & News.